Welcome to Motorhomefacts, we are a thriving motorhome community (Largest in Europe). Why Not JOIN NOW and get instant access to more of the website. It costs nothing to join and only takes a few minutes. We have 200,000 different people visiting our site monthly and this amount of motorhomers in one place guarantees a fast response to any questions you may have. We also have unique facilities not found elsewhere such as our Online Logbook, stopover tracker, Motorhome directory with Ebay type feedback and the largest repository of motorhome campsites reviews found anywhere
Zebedee
I think you have miss read Heathers post. I read it as she may have info that might help rum51 on tracing the 'van seller' so could be to his benefit.
Zebedee
I think you have miss read Heathers post. I read it as she may have info that might help rum51 on tracing the 'van seller' so could be to his benefit.
Waz
I think you may be right Waz. Thanks.
I read it as Heather trying to help with the purchase - not realising it had all gone pear shaped.
Apologies to all concerned.
Dave
P.S. Just saw Heather's post on another thread. You are quite right. Thanks again.
well the point is that this purchaser paid someone money on ebay and didn't get the item
the situation seems exactly the same as the current van on sale on ebay (see thread headed up "is this a con?"
the current van is too good to be true for the price
on enquiring of the seller, she says that she is in Spain, that you can't view the van in advance, and they she only accepts payment through e bay
she says that she has lots of interest and urges you to do it quickly
I have e mailed back claiming that I'm going to be in Barcelona next week on business and can drop by, view the van, and pay over cash on collection - so she can be sure of getting her cash, and in Euros - and then take the van with me
Any normal seller would be delighted with that.... but it seems so similar to how the poor OP was conned (have it sent from Spain etc) .... that it seems that details of the new van for sale, the e mail, the story, and so on, ought to enable him to get an IT person to track down the IP address and find the person who conned him out of his money - and therefore have a chance of recovering it
The biggest problem he has is not knowing who took his money - well if he paid by paypal, it ought to be possible to have them trace the money - certainly a report of this person to ebay should also be possible.
After all, paypal insist on "identifying" their customers, by sending details to a credit card - so help should be available there
All I'm saying is, that I'm happy to forward the email if it is of any help.
Utter disgrace on Ebays behalf - there should be a great big flashing sign when you log in warning you. Just so you don't feel too stupid I nearly did the same thing with a lady ..... in Scotland below is the correspondence in reverse order so start at the bottom and work your way up. As per one of the other post they didn't even bother to change the description.
Sincere apologies to all re my final reaction but I was livid.
On 22 Jun 2011, at 22:38, Sarah <sarah@apposmail.com> wrote:
You can view all photos at:
http://s1220.photobucket.com/albums/dd456/HymerMotorhome/
Due to my location and since view is not an option I have requested personal support and I was approved to use Buyer Protection Program. Here is how the process works through the Buyer Protection Program:
- I make the private listing on eBay for you,
- you go and buy it through their website,
- you have to pay for the item to eBay to secure the funds,
- they confirm me that they received the funds,
- I deliver the van,
- you receive the van,
- they send me the money,
Everything is covered by eBay. I will get paid only after you confirm that you received the van in good order.
Let me know if this is acceptable. Thank you
Sarah
On Wed, Jun 22, 2011 at 11:35 PM, HT <> wrote:
Hi Sarah
I have been looking at loads of these today - in fact looking at one tomorrow for £5,000, although very interested in yours. Please can you send me as much info photos as you can.
I would only be prepared to pay cash on delivery to protect you and me too many scams out there on Paypal and eBay.
Best
Henry
Sent from my Iphone
On 22 Jun 2011, at 21:53, Sarah <sarah@apposmail.com> wrote:
Hello,
Its still for sale. Immaculate condition, no damages, nothing to worry about. All necessary documents available. My current location is Scotland due to my work commitments,If this is going to be a quick sale, I will let it go for £5,930 delivered at my costs. Are you familiar to eBay? I will list the van on eBay Motors for the £5,930 buy it now price and I will send you a link to my auction, so you can buy it immediate.
As soon as you will confirm the payment to eBay, I will proceed delivery without any additional costs for you.
In case you are not familiar with them, please read their Buyer Protection and will see that they cover 100% the transaction done through them up to £50,000. You will receive the van with all the documents. As you know eBay is the best company of online transactions. If indeed interested in buying it and have the funds, I will list it on eBay, as I have a 100% positive feedback with them.
Please let me know your decision.
Thank you
Sarah
On Wed, Jun 22, 2011 at 4:22 PM, <HT> wrote:
Hi there Jesus , you have received a reply to your Gumtree posting "Hymer Motorhome" (ad# 81928749) from H T <>, telephone number (Mobile):
and got a reply from "sarah@apposmail.com" which aroused my suspicions (because it didn't quite match my question!) sp I googled the email address and found this thread!
Incidentally the of "her" reply had hardly changed:
Quote:
Hello,
The motorhome is still for sale. Immaculate condition, no damages, nothing
to worry about. All necessary documents available. My current location is
Scotland due to my work commitments. If this is going to be a quick sale, I
will let it go for £4,900 delivered at my costs.
The deal will go strictly according to eBay Buyer Protection rules and
policy.
Thank you
Sarah
And the £4900 was the bid price when I contacted "her"
I have reported it to eBay so you may not be able to see the (very convincing) ad, but am only given 100 characters to explain my suspicions, which leads me to suspect that they don't take this very seriously!!
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
All times are GMT + 1 Hour Page 6 of 6Goto page : Previous1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6