www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts SOG Motorhome Thetford Toilet Cassette Kit
SOG System Kits

100% Chemical Free Alternative for your Thetford & Dometic Cassette Toilet.
Direct from SOG UK.

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Barff Farm Fenside Review Photo

Review of:
Barff Farm Fenside

Metheringham
Lincolnshire

UK Campsite UK

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2012 Autotrail Apache 634U
2012 Autotrail Apache 634U motorhome
Owned by Bill_OR
Updated 05/02/2014

2010 Kentuck Camp Estro 5
2010 Kentuck Camp Estro 5 motorhome
Owned by willysjeep
Updated 14/11/2010

2006 Autocruise Stardream
2006 Autocruise Stardream motorhome
Owned by Senator
Updated 08/06/2012

Motorhome Ads

Motorhome Facts :: View topic - How Do You Enter GPS Coordinates Onto a Satnav????

Advertise Here
Welcome to Motorhomefacts, we are a thriving motorhome community (Largest in Europe). Why Not JOIN NOW and get instant access to more of the website. It costs nothing to join and only takes a few minutes.
We have 200,000 different people visiting our site monthly and this amount of motorhomers in one place guarantees a fast response to any questions you may have. We also have unique facilities not found elsewhere such as our Online Logbook, stopover tracker, Motorhome directory with Ebay type feedback and the largest repository of motorhome campsites reviews found anywhere



Rally News Next Rally is @ NEW YEAR AT HAMBLE on 30/12/2014 in Hampshire

Tweet This Topic Facebook del.icio.us digg blogmarks Furl Reddit technorati Yahoo Google View previous topic View next topic

Post new topic Reply to topic Printer-friendly version

 How Do You Enter GPS Coordinates Onto a Satnav????
277623 Post Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:10 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

chrisgog Subscriber 14/01/2015 


Joined: May 17, 2005

Posts: 1028

MH: Dethleff Esprit TE6810/1

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: South Wales

wales.gif

Status: Offline

Hi all,
I can enter towns and postcodes so how do I enter gps coordinates as I am not sure.

Have the camperstop book and don't know how to enter 50*44'48"N2*18'18"E. tHIS IS AT argues IN nORTH fRANCE AS AN EXAMPLE.This is something that stresses me out? My computer as you can see is not entering the symbol for degree etc so how does it work on a satnav?


Using the thing is great....entering coordinates and downloading POIs is doing my head in though!!!!!

I also intend to buy a bigger sd card as mine is 1gb. Is there need to buy a 2gb card or should i get 4gb?

(Yes I have posted on mmm too but need answers quick sorry)
chris
Chris
 
277626 Post Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:14 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

G2EWS  


Joined: May 01, 2006

Posts: 3702

MH: Coachmen Concord 300TS

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: Devizes, Wiltshire

blank.gif

Status: Offline

Hi Chris,

You need to tell us which sat nav you have!

Some can have co ordinates others not.

Personally I enter into autoroute on the computer and then transfer the location to the sat nav.

Regards

Chris
 
277645 Post Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:38 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

chrisgog Subscriber 14/01/2015 


Joined: May 17, 2005

Posts: 1028

MH: Dethleff Esprit TE6810/1

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: South Wales

wales.gif

Status: Offline

Its a medion gopal navigator 3ae which is the latest version MD96420 (median gopal P4210) if that makes any sense sorry.


Wish I had never bought a satnav now?

Won't HAVE A COMPUTER WITH US WHEN WE ARE IN fRANCE.
chRIS
 
277661 Post Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:57 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

SidT Subscriber 16/01/2015 


Age: 80

Joined: May 09, 2005

Posts: 1903

MH: Autotrail Excel 600B

Campsites

Gender: Male

Location: Wirral. N W England

uk.gif

Status: Offline

Hi Chris. Sorry I can't help, I have a tomtom. From what I have seen on here quite a few have the same SatNav as you, so don't despair I am sure some will help soon.
Cheers Sid
 
277668 Post Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:02 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

wobby Subscriber 07/01/2015 


Joined: May 01, 2005

Posts: 1829

MH: Hymer Exsis 504

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: East Sussex

uk.gif

Status: Offline

Hi Chrisgog
You can't with most Sat Navs as far as I can see. I couldn't with my Garmin
and I can't with my new Pioneer, daft isn't it ?
What you can do in France though is enter the post code that seems to work OK. Wobby
 
277669 Post Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:02 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

chrisgog Subscriber 14/01/2015 


Joined: May 17, 2005

Posts: 1028

MH: Dethleff Esprit TE6810/1

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: South Wales

wales.gif

Status: Offline

wILL KEEP WAITING THEN thanks

any idea if 2gb is sufficient or should I get 4gb?
 
277771 Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:05 am Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

Autoquest  


Joined: May 16, 2007

Posts: 1479

MH: Autoquest

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: Between a Rock and a hard place

england.gif

Status: Offline

Would a POI editor be of any use to you? Just tap in everywhere you might want to go and save in in your form of POI.. (needs a PC though) I use a Mio168 PDA with a full OSGB/multi format Lat/Long converter.

I have full Europe wide TomTom mapping on a 2gb card with room to spare.
 
277799 Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:54 am Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

mangothemadmonk  


Joined: Aug 06, 2006

Posts: 3457

MH: Hymer B584

Campsites

Gender: None specified

Location: Chorley, Lancashire

england.gif

Status: Offline

I would have thought 2gb would have been ample, but then again it depends on your map detail and what else you intend to store on it.

Johnny F
 
277804 Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:57 am Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

drcotts  


Age: 44

Joined: Feb 23, 2006

Posts: 3092

MH: Autocruise Startrail

Campsites

Gender: Male

Location: Great Barr Birmingham

england.gif

Status: Offline

Hi
You should be able to enter co ordinates on your GPS but i dont know exactly how.
On my garmin i go to the "where to?" screen. this gives me another set of menus one of which is co ordinates.

just be aware of the fact that there are different datums used by different systems so make sure you are set up for the right one.
you can download all the camperstop pois from the vicarious books site as long as your sat nav is supported or it has a poi loader.

hope this helps
 
278053 Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:29 pm Thank this member for this postReply with quote Add User to Ignore List Back To Top

TinaGlenn  

Charity Rep


Joined: Jul 07, 2006

Posts: 1198

MH: Autotrail Cheyenne 632

Campsites

Gender: Female

Location: King's Lynn Norfolk

uk.gif

Status: Offline

With my TomTomone europe I have the option of entering latitude and londitude co-ordinates, so last week we went to Cornwall and I thought I would be very clever and enter the co-ordinates of the camp site instead of the usual pick a road and hope for the best Confused
I wasn't prepared to be asked if I wanted north or south east or west Confused Confused the co-ordinates in the book had plus or minus signs next to them......... so I had a guess Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
I thought it was taking it's time to plot the route, and when I looked it was taking me to somewhere in the netherlands Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

Even with co-ordinates it isn't easy Crying or Very sad

Failing no one on here having the same system as yours does it tell you in the instructions that you can use this type of inputting??

Tina

(Glenn is still laughing Embarassed )
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Members do not see the Adverts Below
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  
Goto page 1, 2  Next


Post new topic Reply to topic Printer-friendly version

Tweet This Topic Facebook del.icio.us digg blogmarks Furl Reddit technorati Yahoo Google Go to MAIN SITE Front Page