www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts icampsites usb portable campsite database for windows mac and linux
iCampsites USB

A portable USB campsite database with over 9200 campsites and free updates!

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Sainte Croix du Verdun. Les Roches Review Photo

Review of:
Sainte Croix du Verdun. Les Roches

Sainte Croix du Verdun
Alsace

French Campsite France

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2008 FLEETWOOD TERRA LX
2008 FLEETWOOD TERRA LX motorhome
Owned by SUFFOLKBOY
Updated 11/01/2009

2002 Elnagh Marlin Slim 2
2002 Elnagh Marlin Slim 2 motorhome
Owned by Johnt1
Updated 22/08/2010

2009 Carthargo Opus
2009 Carthargo Opus motorhome
Owned by wobby
Updated 20/12/2009

Latest Classified Ads

Motorhome Ads

2004 Winnebago Brave 30w


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a 2004 Winnebago Brave 30w

2004 Winnebago Brave 30W
Workhorse W20 Chassis
8.1 litre GM Vortec V8 Petrol 340BHP
Alison LCT 1000 Auto 5 speed overdrive
Cruise control
Rear Wheel drive
All hydraulic power disc brakes
ABS
Foot operated Transmission Brake
HWH levelling jacks, manual touchpad operated
GVW 20,700lb (9.24 Tons)
Cab a/c

Winnebago Body
30'11" long
8'6" wide
Electric heated/adjustable drivers mirrors
Twin Slides
Basement storage all with interior lights
Roof mounted twin a/c's one with heat pump
6 way power drivers seat
Manual passenger seat both in leatherette
Four seater dinette
Rock and roll sofa
D/bowl kitchen sink
Hob (no oven under)
Microwave and oven combined at eye level
Storage cupboards at eye level
powered fan above
Corian worktops with storage under
Full sized glass fronted shower
Toilet room with marine ceramic toilet and vanity basin
Queen sized bed with drawers either side and above
3 Glass door half length hanging with draws under
Dressing table with lift up lid
Dressing table fold up chair

RV fitments
Tv's front and rear.
Gas fired heating thermostatically controlled.
Pressurised gas fired/mains electric hot water
Individual control for a/c
Main electric panel for load sensor, tank and battery
levels
Lights neon and tungsten

External
Basement storage all round
5Kva genny
Convenience centre, black and grey waste emptying point, water fill, city water connection plus shower
Large awning
Powered step with light
Petrol tank 55 gallons
Black tank 30 gallons
Grey tank 35 gallons
Fresh water 50 gallons
LPG tank 18 gallons all converted approx. to imp.
10mpg if you drive at 55mph 7 if you push it at 70mph
Top speed, will not be finding out but imagine 90+

Modifications by us
Battery master
Two extra house batteries (4 in total)
LPG conversion 2x100 litre tanks

Bought in June 2005 at Stratford show (private sale) wife took one look and said this is the one (way over budget)
2 weeks later we are in Italy, drives well, wallows a bit on rough ground, dives under heavy braking, rolls on corners but always feels safe, brakes very powerful. Steering light but precise.
5 speed auto box very smooth, cruise control allows engine to slow to much before dropping a gear on hills, I got in the habit of flicking the overdrive off, it need a steep hill for it to need 3rd.
Very quiet, very powerful engine, we can talk quite comfortably when driving 55mph= 2000rpm in 5th engine governed to 4800 rpm max.
Drivers power seat fully adjusts to suit me 5’11” and wife 5’ Good driving position very comfortable, very good all round vision at the front and sides, good mirrors. No rear camera we need one.

Roll up to site, jacks down, slides out, awning out, connect electric and water/waste if available, sun lounger out, Magic!
Its everything we hoped it would be, roomy, permanently made up bed, loads of hanging space, full sized shower; bliss, wife loves it, and if she’s happy, I am
Gets hot, put the a/c on, they work very well and are reasonably quite, we left one on all night.
All exterior bodywork appears very well made and the same with the interior fitments, all panels are screwed not glued or nailed, have now done 5000 miles in it without any problems, very few rattles when we are driving
All the fabrics are good quality and the dinette and sofa seats are sprung not foam.
Sleeps 6 adults in comfort

Drawbacks
Very few sites have an emptying point for 3” sewer hose, so a macerator is a must, along with at least 50’ hose
The length can cause problems on some sites also long rear overhang needs careful watching
At over 12’ high, trees can cause a problem
Width at 8’6” you are as wide as anything else on the road, toll booths need very careful negotiating
No doubt most of you realise that 8’6” is over the max 100.4” inches allowed on our roads, but this has been passed by the DVLA so in their opinion is legal
Fuel consumption under 10mpg
At over 9tons GVW be careful where you pitch up, soft ground is a definite no no
We don’t do much cooking on holiday and have not used the oven function of the microwave, but I would imagine most cooks would find it wanting.

Update November 2009

Having now owed the RV for 4 years and 30,000 miles I thought I would add a quick update.

My original impressions of quality have been borne out, no real problems with either the coach or chassis, I will run through the few I have had.

I found some oil around the rear wheel trim, and realised a half shaft oil seal was leaking, this is an easy one to replace as its just a paper gasket, i suppose a garage would have charged for an hours work. Rust, not externally but under the lockers, all the lockers have steel fronts behind the doors, and the paint finish on these is abysmal, so I have rubbed them all down and coated them with hammerite, also did the same with the mud flaps

I had an LPG conversion fitted by Logical Automotive Services near Northhampton  and they have caused a couple of problems, we broke down on the M25 and had to call the RAC, it turned out to be the relay fitted by LAS, they fitted it on top of the engine, and the engine vibration killed it. I have since moved it to the firewall. The other problem is more major, they fitted the wrong conversion, something I have only recently found out.

Damage, by me:/ hit both rear lockers over a period of two years, its the overhang, 11 feet in my case, a little inattention at the French tolls and round the wife's uncle's house. £500 to put right, practically all spares for the Winnebago are easily available, except for paint, you can't get it, so you have to have it matched, mines been matched to the fuel flap, and damm near perfect.




Title: 2004 Winnebago Brave 30w
Category: American RVs
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Ian Voller
Added: November 19th 2005
Viewed: 6230 Times
Score:Excellent
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review 
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to American RVs Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: olley on 2008-10-16 20:48:28
My Score: Top of All
Hi crisdy sorry only just looked at this review for the first time since last year, still better late than never. :)

Did a 5 day course after I bought it, cost about 1000 including test.



Posted by: Chrisdy on 2007-03-12 00:42:12
My Score: Top of All
Did you do an LGV Driving Course and Test to get a Class C licence, or did you already hold an appropriate licence? If the former, how long did it take you and what did it cost?