www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts Motorhome Accessory Installers Devon
Outdoor Bits Motorhome Accessory Installer

Motorhome Accessories fitted nationwide or at our workshop in Exmouth, Devon

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Panorama Camping Review Photo

Review of:
Panorama Camping

Westerndorf

Austria Campsite Austria

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

1997 Compass Drifter 360E
1997 Compass Drifter 360E motorhome
Owned by colomane
Updated 09/05/2009

2007 Burstner Delfin Perfomance T700
2007 Burstner Delfin Perfomance T700 motorhome
Owned by blade1889
Updated 05/02/2011

2004 Autocruise Starblazer ll
2004 Autocruise Starblazer ll motorhome
Owned by nigee
Updated 06/02/2013

Latest Classified Ads

Motorhome Ads

130 w KYOCERA Solar Panels


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a 130 w KYOCERA Solar Panels

Note: the following review relates to an installation of TWO Kyocera panels so if you are only fitting one then roughly divide the output by two.

Type: Polycrystalline Photovoltaic
Size: 130 Watts
Output: 7.39 amps
Price range: 400 520
Size: L = 1425; W = 652; D = 56 mm
Weight: 12.2 kg

The Rationale

My initial reason for wanting a solar panel (or panels) was to extend the life of our leisure batteries during periods of wild camping when EHU was not available. I had experience of solar panels many years ago during my years of sailing and was not impressed. They had only worked under ideal conditions and that rarely happened, producing only a small amount of power relative to a fairly large size, heavy panel. This new generation of solar panels was reported to be much more efficient and lighter than the previous generation and in a small way contributes towards reducing global warming. In an ideal world the panel or panels would replenish all the power we consumed during a 24 hour period and give us a form of self sufficiency. I can hear all the voices saying how naive can this man be Well on paper is should be possible, however in reality; well read on.

Fixed or Rotating

I spent a considerable amount of time researching the issue of fixed verses raised and rotating panels. I reviewed all the posts in the forums, even starting a couple myself. I accept that for the same size panel a rotating one could produce up to 2+ times more power than a fixed panel. I used the MHF solar panel calculator to assess power output etc. and came to the conclusion that a large fixed panel would be more useful than a small rotating panel and of course, cost much less. In my particular case 2 x 130 w panels would cost significantly less than a single 75 or 100 W rotating panel and, using the MHF calculator and manufacturers fact sheets, getting (in ideal conditions) 15 amps for 5 hours a day from a fixed panel in the summer was better than 5 amps for 10 hours a day for rotating panel. Cost must come into the equation and rotating panels at 1600+ plus fitting and possibly additional accessories such as a wind vane, verses around 850 for two 130 watt panels, the Kyocera wins on economics alone. I chose the Kyocera because of a combination of price, output and size in relation to roof space availability. I also have the option of adding an additional panel if needed for an extra 400. That would give me 390 watts or, using the calculator, the potential of up to 196 amps per day in summer. Im sure the debate will go on and on regarding this topic, however based on output and cost this was my decision.

Fitting

Fitting the Kyocera was easier than I thought as I was able to bolt the 130 watt panels on to the roof bars, allowing me the option of removing them if needed to transfer onto another MH if necessary. Actually this turned out to be a smart move on my part as I changed MHs some 10 months later and was able to swap the panels over very easily. I utilized an existing hole to route the cables and I fitted the regulator in a locker out of sight and ran the wires direct to a bus bar and to the leisure batteries. I opted at a later date, for the split charger device (100) that directed the majority of the charge to the leisure batteries and 1.5 amps to the engine battery. The whole job was done in a day without any drilling of holes in the roof.

Results

Throughout the summer months the Kyoceras produced on average, around 80 amps of power per day. Some days were better with over 100 amps registering on the Sterling Battery Management System, others were much worse at around 40 amps. There were one or two days of bad weather when we were down to no more than 20 amps. Bad weather would affect both rotating and fixed panels, however a fixed 130w would still work out much better than the theoretical maximum of the 75 w rotating panel. We are heavy users of mains and the leisure batteries are linked up to a 2.5 kw inverter to power a mains only freezer, electric kettle, toaster, TV and a variety of chargers for the phone and cameras.

We were fortunate to be parked next to a French Motorhome owner who had the Alden Phenix panel and we were able to compare output over a couple of days while in the Camargue. At 7pm in early September the Alden was showing 4.2 amps while our Kyocera was showing 6.2. At midday the following day the Alden was showing 4.8 amps while the Kyocera showed 12.9 amps. In reality both fixed and rotating panel types rarely operate to maximum efficiency and ideal conditions are few and far between. The Kyocera would still produce something even on grey rainy days and on good days would produce around 3 amps from early in the morning rising to almost 14 amps after 11 am through to 3 pm dropping back to 3 or less after 6pm.

The fixed panels however are pretty poor in winter months and even with 2 x 130 w panels we are getting less than 15 amps per day when the sky is cloudy and cold in northern England with the sun low in the sky at a time when we are using more electricity during the long nights and very short days. I am not convinced that a 100w rotating panel would be that much better during winter but concede that it would be a little better at northern latitudes. One clear day in December, the regulator on the Kyocera went up to 5 amps and gave me a total of 25 amps for the day but that was exceptional and not the norm. I am not convinced that fitting another panel would improve matters a great deal. We have sufficient power in summer and another would not help much in winter. One obvious tip though - we park our MH under trees on our drive when not in use and it is surprising the effect dirt can have on solar panels and we have found that cleaning them before each trip improved performance significantly.


Pros

1. Much cheaper than rotating panels
2. Smaller footprint on roof as you dont have to worry about rotating diameters
3. Can make you nearly self sufficient in summer, more so the further south you go.


Cons

1. Not very efficient during winter months when you arguably need more power
2. Dont buy solar panels if you are justifying them on break even or positive return against the cost of EHU. They are convenient but you can buy a fair few amps of electricity for the cost of solar panels

Verdict

Overall Im pleased with the Kyocera (s) and dont regret the purchase. I know we will not get our money back for some time, if ever, but they are worth it to extend the time between getting out the generator or having to go to a site with EHU. During the summer we spent four weeks wild camping and never needed the generator once. (and in the hot weather the freezer ran 24/7 all courtesy of our solar panels) I still deliberate on fixed verses rotating types but remain convinced that we made the right decision. As stated earlier, we are heavy users of battery power so I would expect more frugal users to make more efficient use of their power and in our particular case, if we didnt use the freezer, then the solar panel would make us self sufficient for much longer during a year. As we are using our MH more and more I become determined to become self sufficient and who knows one day.....




Title: 130 w KYOCERA Solar Panels
Category: Alternative Power
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Peter Mitchell
Added: January 18th 2008
Viewed: 10274 Times
Score:Very Good
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Alternative Power Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: cliffhanger on 2011-08-16 23:32:24
My Score: Top of All

Hi all

I''m interested in a solar panel and have been reading the comments. One question, does one tilt the panel or are these panels fixed horizontally on the roof? I would think this would effect the output?

regards

Cliff



Posted by: Vennwood on 2010-10-15 10:40:43
My Score: Good
Hi All,

Really sorry I didn''t see your comments earlier. Although too late now maybe others will benefit. At the time I chose Kyocera because they offered the highest percentage efficiency - 13%. I know that we are already into the next generation and manufacturers such as BP and others have exceeded this. Kyocera themselves in their KD range are up to around 17% - so the justification is getting easier.
At the time I bought my panels the MPPT regulators were out of reach in terms of price and available knowledge. Even now there are some that rubbish the claims made about MPPT controllers by the likes of Morningstar etc. And to be fair some of the claims are exaggerated. That said if I were to start again I would definitely go for MPPT and I may even switch over if the price comes down further. They are much more efficient during winter - and that is when you need power the most.

Finally after adding 2 x 87W Kyocera KD models we are now totally self sufficient and not having used EHU for 3+ years, with an average annual nights away of 140 days per year we have almost covered the cost of our original investment.



Posted by: CathalHeavey on 2010-05-11 13:30:31
My Score: Top of All
Hello,
I am thinking of purchasing a Kyocera and I have roof bars. You mentioned that you mounted the solar panels on roof bars. I would be interested in knowing how you did this. Would there be an issue with vibration.



Posted by: Sportingmac on 2010-01-25 20:10:08
My Score: Top of All
Peter - did you consider fitting a Maximum Power Point Tracker (MPPT) to your solar panels? Can I also ask why you chose Kyocera panels - I believe their warranty excludes mobile use?

Good article - I have reached the same conclusion you did for similar reasons - but will look to add a MPPT controller instead. also - no moving parts to break down.



Posted by: Vennwood on 2008-03-19 13:45:18
My Score: Top of All
Update to Solar Panel Review

We have just spent 6 weeks travelling through France, Italy and back into France, starting in late Jan until early March. We decided not to take the 240 volt freezer this time and so reduced the load on our batteries/inverter. During the six weeks we didnt need to top up using EHU once. We were using around 30 45 amps per day. We were blessed with glorious weather for most of the time so the panels were able to soak up the sun for pretty much all day. On most occasions the panels were able to completely re-charge the batteries, however on one or two part cloudy days in Rome it took a couple of days to recover. Im sure that had we been in Northern France we might have needed to use a portable generator or EHU on occasion. This trip has again confirmed the viability of a good Solar panel.


User Info

Good Evening Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 11
  New Yesterday: 16
  Total: 88,366
  Latest: jebeleye

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 233
  Guest(s): 756
  Search Bot(s): 9
  Total: 998

 Online:
  Member(s): 
01.  747
04.  adgy
05.  AlanVal
06.  aldra
09.  alisea
10.  alphadee
11.  an99uk
12.  androidGB
13.  Andythebuilder
14.  ardgour
15.  athas
16.  autostratus
17.  barryd
18.  Barts
19.  beardy
20.  bigbazza
21.  bigfrank3
22.  Bill_OR
23.  bjandlin
24.  bktayken
25.  Blobsta
26.  blondel
28.  bobbylynne
30.  boringfrog
31.  brockley
32.  cabby
34.  CandA
35.  caulkhead
39.  ChrisandJohn
40.  Colinsburgh
43.  daffodil
44.  dalspa
45.  davaha
47.  DC4JC
48.  Deno
49.  DianneT
50.  dipsticks
51.  dovtrams
52.  dpsuk999
53.  drascombe
54.  drfcchris
55.  edw45r24
56.  emjaiuk
57.  erneboy
58.  eurajohn
59.  exmusso
60.  ezz
63.  Fatalhud
64.  fatboy6
65.  FDB
66.  Fellside42
67.  fifthwheel
68.  flyinghigh
69.  Foghorn-Legh..
70.  FordPrefect
71.  forthpilot
74.  froggy59
75.  G7UXG
76.  Garcia
77.  gazza333
78.  Gazzer
80.  GEOMAR
81.  Geriatricbac..
82.  gkp107
83.  Glandwr
84.  Goldwinger
86.  greygit
87.  Grizzly
88.  grout20
89.  Haloze
90.  hampsterracing
91.  happytraveller
93.  Hawcara
94.  Hobey
95.  hogan
96.  homenaway
99.  HurricaneSmith
100.  hymer624
101.  Hymerintacto
102.  iansmithofot..
103.  Imbiber
104.  Jamsieboy
105.  javea
108.  Jimblob44
110.  jo662
111.  jwinder
112.  kalamitty
113.  katv
114.  Kaytutt
115.  kenp
116.  klyne
117.  ksblair
118.  lakelander
119.  larrythelamb
120.  Law
121.  Lessablon
122.  lifestyle
123.  listerdiesel
124.  lookback
126.  mach
127.  MacHymer
129.  macski
133.  Mashy
134.  menis
137.  mid4did
138.  Midnightramb..
139.  Mike48
140.  missmollie
141.  mistycat
142.  moblee
143.  mollmagee
144.  MorrisMotorh..
146.  motorman
148.  Murgzie
150.  ned
151.  nedsez
153.  NormanB
154.  novice1968
158.  p1nkie
159.  padraigpost
160.  pagey
161.  Pammy
162.  Patrick_Phil..
163.  peedee
164.  peejay
165.  Penquin
166.  philnolly
167.  philoaks
168.  powerplus
169.  Premiere99
170.  prof20
171.  ptrxc10
173.  raynipper
174.  rayrecrok
175.  redwings
176.  richardjames
178.  Robbins33
179.  Rocknroll
180.  rocky1968
181.  rolyk
183.  Roverdave
185.  sander4709
186.  Sandy_Saunders
187.  satandpcguy
188.  Scolds
191.  seanoo
193.  Sheriton
199.  smiler
201.  Solwaybuggier
202.  Spacerunner
203.  spykal
204.  stanley
207.  swivel
208.  takeaflight
209.  Talaris
211.  taz
212.  teemyob
215.  Toddles
216.  tonka
217.  tony645
218.  tonybvi
219.  tonyt
220.  trek
221.  tuk-tuk
223.  vince43
226.  voltar
229.  warty
230.  whiskyman
231.  wizzardi
232.  Wut
233.  zoro

Random Photos

2013 0717shabbington0028
Hamble 2.06.12 029
S-pore Wet

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 971

Desert Detours

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours