www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts keeping cool in a motorhome
Keep Cool This Summer

Outdoor Bits has arranged a few products that will be handy to those touring in this heat wave.

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Longthorns Farm Review Photo

Review of:
Longthorns Farm

Nr. Bere Regis
Dorset

UK Campsite UK

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2010 Autotrail comanche
2010 Autotrail comanche motorhome
Owned by grandadbaza
Updated 20/12/2011

2006 Rapido 997M
2006 Rapido 997M motorhome
Owned by batchpatch
Updated 26/03/2010

1997 Compass Navigator
1997 Compass Navigator motorhome
Owned by DiscoDave
Updated 20/12/2008

Latest Classified Ads

Motorhome Ads

Pioneer AVIC F500BT


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a Pioneer AVIC F500BT

I have been using back up or reversing cameras for the better part of 15 years. Long before they were available in the UK. My first system in fact I fitted on a Dodge Ram 250 day van way back in the early 1990's having purchased it from Camping World in the USA. To day there is a mass of products on the market. Many reviews can be found in magazines such as MMM and if memory serves me they did a reasonable job back in September or October 2009 showing various types on the market at various prices.

The product I am reviewing was fitted to my American B class Winnebago Aspect 23D (2005) it was fitted in July 2009 by Vanbitz. The RV is a typical wide body on a commercial cab, in this case a Ford E350 and while the Velvac mirrors are good I would hate to reverse it without a back up camera. Well I did until I had it booked in and the work done a week after taking delivery.

I wanted a camera with a wide angle lens both to see each wing at the rear and also the tow ball and a fair bit of road behind the 8' wheelchair trailer I pull. Van Bitz had some suggestions for me and at one point we were going with a camera that could either rotate up and down or a twin camera (in the same body) giving different views.

However as I did not want the monitor on the dash or attached to the windscreen it came down to a very nice bit of gear by Pioneer. The head unit which is also a satellite navigation system as well as an entertainment centre (1,400 songs on it so far and only half of the 8gb card full). But the best part is the head is located down below the dash height and on the engine cowl within easy reach to allow me to select the different functions I want as I drive (do not do it while on the move). A limpet sucker type clamp is used so no drill holes. The power wire to the cradle comes from a gap in the dash.

The only issue I have is on the display you get the words saying that items may appear closer than they are. No it cannot be removed.

The vision is good and clear from a very small camera head. It works well in low light Could do with a rain shield but it has not been to much of a problem so far.

I was using the unit in doors the other day and it was telling me I was over speed limit and that satellite connection had been lost. I was 12' from the window. If I am say 8' from the window it still works in doors. It is a plug and go system and can be used in different cars or off the mains. In the RV it sits in a cradle that is powered and is linked to the radio and an amplifier. Yes it has the speed camera thing and traffic up dates live (has a small wire to the window screen on suckers for that) but the actual head has no aerial wire, it is all inside the unit. Good size monitor with a good view. Expensive yes and you certainly can buy cheaper. However if you add up the satellite system, music system and the back up camera it is not to over the top. Plus it can be taken out of the RV for safe keeping.

It is easy to switch between back up and satellite and both work at the same time as does the music - has hands free for telephone and bluetooth. You can leave it as a backup camera that comes on when the reverse gear is selected or you can over ride it by the touch screen to be on all the time.

Van Bitz fitted it and did a first rate job as always and I suggest you talk to them about costs as they are a main Pioneer agent. Plus they have many other makes in stock. This item met my requirement, that was what it was about.




Title: Pioneer AVIC F500BT
Category: Reversing Cameras
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Robert Fage
Added: November 17th 2009
Viewed: 2171 Times
Score:Top of All
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Reversing Cameras Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: xiaoxin on 2011-06-17 03:16:14
My Score: Top of All

Before starting to communicate pandora gold beads charms about UGG boots, I should 1st handle people individuals near to pandora online the world, who have no notion whatsoever concerning what pandora jewellery in reality are. they are boots are of Australian make and use sheepskin as their raw material. They have fleece for the inside part pandora store jointly with a tanned external layer. Apart from boots for pandora charms adults, additionally they manufacture kid''s boots.







User Info

Good Evening Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 18
  New Yesterday: 16
  Total: 87,317
  Latest: Alan0

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 193
  Guest(s): 684
  Search Bot(s): 6
  Total: 883

 Online:
  Member(s): 
01.  1943
02.  2634
03.  AAB
05.  aldra
08.  alnshaz
09.  an99uk
10.  andrewball1000
11.  androidGB
12.  angie
13.  argos
16.  baldybazza
17.  beardy
18.  bigtwin
19.  billywiz
20.  Bill_OR
21.  bktayken
22.  Blobsta
23.  blondel
25.  bobbylynne
26.  brendan
27.  Brock
28.  BTHCAMP
29.  budgie13
30.  builder
31.  cabby
33.  camperman101
34.  Carl_n_Flo
35.  ceejayt
36.  Charisma
37.  chasper
38.  cocoa
39.  colpot
40.  coppo
44.  cronkle
45.  DABurleigh
47.  Dago
48.  davesport
49.  davo11
50.  DC4JC
52.  DeeGee7
53.  Deno
54.  dhutchy
55.  Dide
56.  Dougaitken
57.  dovtrams
58.  duxdeluxe
59.  emmbeedee
60.  exmusso
61.  flyinghigh
62.  Foghorn-Legh..
63.  FranknJan
64.  FREE
65.  froggy59
66.  gardener1
69.  Gilroy
70.  gj1023
71.  Glandwr
73.  GMJ
74.  gobbi
75.  goneroming
76.  GordonBennet
77.  grenwelly
78.  greygit
79.  Grizzly
80.  Habilis-abilis
82.  Haresby
83.  HarryTheHymer
85.  hbspc
86.  hogan
87.  hommes
89.  HurricaneSmith
90.  hymer624
92.  jacder
93.  jackeen
94.  javea
95.  jb6981
97.  jetski
99.  jonasw19
100.  jonesy1
102.  K8H
103.  kaacee
106.  Kev1
107.  Kev_n_Liz
108.  kimbo4x4
109.  klyne
110.  larrythelamb
111.  lifestyle
113.  listerdiesel
114.  Lorconblue
115.  machilly
116.  Mashy
118.  max123
119.  McGeemobile
120.  mendit
122.  Midnightramb..
123.  Mike48
124.  Mikeclaire
125.  mistycat
126.  moblee
127.  moch
128.  Mrplodd
130.  namder
131.  newleaf
133.  olley
135.  padraigpost
136.  Pammy
137.  Pat-H
139.  paulmold
140.  Penquin
141.  peribro
142.  peterandirene
143.  petetin
145.  pomme1
147.  prof20
148.  prudence
150.  randonneur
151.  rayrecrok
153.  RichardD
155.  robinpompey
156.  rogerblack
157.  rolyk
158.  Roma-Roamers
161.  roxie
162.  Scolds
163.  scone
164.  scotsy
165.  seakay
171.  spykal
172.  Stanner
173.  stevegos
174.  strod
175.  Suzysetter
176.  tabs
177.  taz
178.  Telbell
180.  ThePrisoner
182.  tonka
183.  trek
184.  turbodes
185.  urbanracer
187.  warty
188.  waspes
189.  whiskyman
190.  yurt
192.  Zepp
193.  Zozzer

Random Photos

P1080408 (small)
Hamble 2.06.12 011
In The Western Sahara
With Nukeadmin in the Western Sahara

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 891

Desert Detours

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours