www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts Telair Motorhome Air Conditioning Systems
Telair Motorhome
Air Conditioners

Create a perfect mobile climate in your motorhome wherever you are with a Telair Air Conditioner.

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Insurance Quote

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park Review Photo

Review of:
Highlands End Holiday Park

Eype
Dorset

UK Campsite UK

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2011 Autocruise Starfire
2011 Autocruise Starfire motorhome
Owned by Blobsta
Updated 13/02/2012

2002 Elnagh Marlin Slim 2
2002 Elnagh Marlin Slim 2 motorhome
Owned by Johnt1
Updated 22/08/2010

2008 Murvi Morello
2008 Murvi Morello motorhome
Owned by chiily
Updated 05/06/2009

Motorhome Travel Blogs

Motorhome Ads

Pioneer AVIC F500BT


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a Pioneer AVIC F500BT

I have been using back up or reversing cameras for the better part of 15 years. Long before they were available in the UK. My first system in fact I fitted on a Dodge Ram 250 day van way back in the early 1990's having purchased it from Camping World in the USA. To day there is a mass of products on the market. Many reviews can be found in magazines such as MMM and if memory serves me they did a reasonable job back in September or October 2009 showing various types on the market at various prices.

The product I am reviewing was fitted to my American B class Winnebago Aspect 23D (2005) it was fitted in July 2009 by Vanbitz. The RV is a typical wide body on a commercial cab, in this case a Ford E350 and while the Velvac mirrors are good I would hate to reverse it without a back up camera. Well I did until I had it booked in and the work done a week after taking delivery.

I wanted a camera with a wide angle lens both to see each wing at the rear and also the tow ball and a fair bit of road behind the 8' wheelchair trailer I pull. Van Bitz had some suggestions for me and at one point we were going with a camera that could either rotate up and down or a twin camera (in the same body) giving different views.

However as I did not want the monitor on the dash or attached to the windscreen it came down to a very nice bit of gear by Pioneer. The head unit which is also a satellite navigation system as well as an entertainment centre (1,400 songs on it so far and only half of the 8gb card full). But the best part is the head is located down below the dash height and on the engine cowl within easy reach to allow me to select the different functions I want as I drive (do not do it while on the move). A limpet sucker type clamp is used so no drill holes. The power wire to the cradle comes from a gap in the dash.

The only issue I have is on the display you get the words saying that items may appear closer than they are. No it cannot be removed.

The vision is good and clear from a very small camera head. It works well in low light Could do with a rain shield but it has not been to much of a problem so far.

I was using the unit in doors the other day and it was telling me I was over speed limit and that satellite connection had been lost. I was 12' from the window. If I am say 8' from the window it still works in doors. It is a plug and go system and can be used in different cars or off the mains. In the RV it sits in a cradle that is powered and is linked to the radio and an amplifier. Yes it has the speed camera thing and traffic up dates live (has a small wire to the window screen on suckers for that) but the actual head has no aerial wire, it is all inside the unit. Good size monitor with a good view. Expensive yes and you certainly can buy cheaper. However if you add up the satellite system, music system and the back up camera it is not to over the top. Plus it can be taken out of the RV for safe keeping.

It is easy to switch between back up and satellite and both work at the same time as does the music - has hands free for telephone and bluetooth. You can leave it as a backup camera that comes on when the reverse gear is selected or you can over ride it by the touch screen to be on all the time.

Van Bitz fitted it and did a first rate job as always and I suggest you talk to them about costs as they are a main Pioneer agent. Plus they have many other makes in stock. This item met my requirement, that was what it was about.




Title: Pioneer AVIC F500BT
Category: Reversing Cameras
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Robert Fage
Added: November 17th 2009
Viewed: 1981 Times
Score:Top of All
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Reversing Cameras Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: xiaoxin on 2011-06-17 03:16:14
My Score: Top of All

Before starting to communicate pandora gold beads charms about UGG boots, I should 1st handle people individuals near to pandora online the world, who have no notion whatsoever concerning what pandora jewellery in reality are. they are boots are of Australian make and use sheepskin as their raw material. They have fleece for the inside part pandora store jointly with a tanned external layer. Apart from boots for pandora charms adults, additionally they manufacture kid''s boots.







User Info

Good Afternoon Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 11
  New Yesterday: 31
  Total: 84,647
  Latest: Hockeynut

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 198
  Guest(s): 842
  Search Bot(s): 8
  Total: 1,048

 Online:
  Member(s): 
01.  1302
02.  1943
05.  Al42
06.  alonsos
09.  AndrewandShi..
10.  anjasola
11.  arao99
12.  bambi2
13.  barryd
14.  Bern2544
15.  Bernies
16.  bernv
17.  bigcats30
18.  bigtwin
21.  BillyS
22.  bjandlin
23.  BJH
25.  Blobsta
29.  BritStops
30.  brynric
31.  camallison
33.  camperman101
34.  Carl_n_Flo
35.  chasper
36.  chrisdougie
37.  Christine600
38.  Chrisv
39.  chubb
40.  cje101
41.  claypigeon
42.  cocoa
43.  ComfortInsur..
45.  cpn123
46.  Daedalas
47.  dally1
48.  dalspa
49.  darach
50.  DaveJane
51.  DBSS
52.  deefordog
54.  dog1
55.  DonMac
57.  drcotts
58.  Drew
59.  duxdeluxe
60.  elldwin
61.  enpiste
62.  erneboy
64.  fifthwheel
65.  flyinghigh
66.  Frantone
68.  G2EWS
69.  GaryL
70.  GEOMAR
72.  gjh613
74.  GMLS
77.  greygit
78.  Happyhippy
79.  Harp07
80.  harrison
81.  hissingsyd
82.  hmh
84.  HurricaneSmith
85.  hymertastic
86.  Ian1
87.  IndieJ
88.  inkey-2008
89.  isadora
90.  jacder
91.  janet1
92.  jarcadia
93.  javea
94.  Jennymack
95.  jetski
96.  Jimblob44
98.  Jin
99.  josieb
100.  jwinder
102.  katv
104.  kenyon
105.  Kev1
106.  korky24
107.  legend654
108.  listerdiesel
109.  ljem
111.  Lydnian
112.  macski
114.  Mattyrodill
115.  mfrancer
118.  Mike48
119.  mm1
120.  moblee
121.  mollmagee
122.  MorrisMotorh..
123.  Mrplodd
127.  nickkdx
130.  ob1
131.  ossy
133.  padraigpost
134.  paulmold
135.  peedee
137.  philnolly
139.  pipsqueak55
140.  presto
141.  Raptor107
142.  rayc
145.  RichardD
146.  Robell
147.  Roger7webster
150.  rumik
153.  shingi
154.  sirhandel
155.  smiler
156.  Spiritofherald
157.  Sprinta
158.  sqeek
159.  Stanner
161.  stevegos
163.  stevelion
164.  stevenjcoope..
166.  Suenliam
167.  Sundial
169.  sweetie
170.  takeaflight
171.  Tansy
172.  TASSLE
173.  TeamRienza
175.  ThePrisoner
176.  thevines
177.  thieawin
178.  Tintent115
179.  Toddles
180.  tokkalosh
181.  tonka
182.  tony_g
184.  Tramperinatr..
185.  tri-peter
186.  tuscan30
187.  urbanracer
188.  VanFlair
189.  vava1
191.  vince43
192.  WildThingsKev
193.  woodhus
194.  Wupert
196.  Zebedee
197.  Zepp
198.  Zozzer

Random Photos

20130406 204854
Hamble 2.06.12 078
Img 0726-800

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 687

Desert Detours

Desert Detours Moroccan Adventure

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours