www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts Motorhome Mirror Guards for Fiat Ducato Based Motorhomes
Motorhome Mirror Guards

Made to fit Mirror Guards / Protectors for the Fiat Ducato Base Vehicle designed to prevent damage to the costly standard mirrors and improve your visibility.

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Les Source (68) Review Photo

Review of:
Les Source (68)

Wattwiller
Alsace

French Campsite France

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2008 Autotrail Cheyenne 696G
2008 Autotrail Cheyenne 696G motorhome
Owned by Fairportgoer
Updated 05/04/2010

2007 Hobby 750 GEL
2007 Hobby 750 GEL motorhome
Owned by riverboat2001
Updated 03/02/2013

1986 Autotrail CHEROKEE 207d
1986 Autotrail CHEROKEE 207d motorhome
Owned by BIGMILLIE
Updated 06/08/2009

Latest Classified Ads

Motorhome Ads

Pioneer AVIC F500BT


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a Pioneer AVIC F500BT

I have been using back up or reversing cameras for the better part of 15 years. Long before they were available in the UK. My first system in fact I fitted on a Dodge Ram 250 day van way back in the early 1990's having purchased it from Camping World in the USA. To day there is a mass of products on the market. Many reviews can be found in magazines such as MMM and if memory serves me they did a reasonable job back in September or October 2009 showing various types on the market at various prices.

The product I am reviewing was fitted to my American B class Winnebago Aspect 23D (2005) it was fitted in July 2009 by Vanbitz. The RV is a typical wide body on a commercial cab, in this case a Ford E350 and while the Velvac mirrors are good I would hate to reverse it without a back up camera. Well I did until I had it booked in and the work done a week after taking delivery.

I wanted a camera with a wide angle lens both to see each wing at the rear and also the tow ball and a fair bit of road behind the 8' wheelchair trailer I pull. Van Bitz had some suggestions for me and at one point we were going with a camera that could either rotate up and down or a twin camera (in the same body) giving different views.

However as I did not want the monitor on the dash or attached to the windscreen it came down to a very nice bit of gear by Pioneer. The head unit which is also a satellite navigation system as well as an entertainment centre (1,400 songs on it so far and only half of the 8gb card full). But the best part is the head is located down below the dash height and on the engine cowl within easy reach to allow me to select the different functions I want as I drive (do not do it while on the move). A limpet sucker type clamp is used so no drill holes. The power wire to the cradle comes from a gap in the dash.

The only issue I have is on the display you get the words saying that items may appear closer than they are. No it cannot be removed.

The vision is good and clear from a very small camera head. It works well in low light Could do with a rain shield but it has not been to much of a problem so far.

I was using the unit in doors the other day and it was telling me I was over speed limit and that satellite connection had been lost. I was 12' from the window. If I am say 8' from the window it still works in doors. It is a plug and go system and can be used in different cars or off the mains. In the RV it sits in a cradle that is powered and is linked to the radio and an amplifier. Yes it has the speed camera thing and traffic up dates live (has a small wire to the window screen on suckers for that) but the actual head has no aerial wire, it is all inside the unit. Good size monitor with a good view. Expensive yes and you certainly can buy cheaper. However if you add up the satellite system, music system and the back up camera it is not to over the top. Plus it can be taken out of the RV for safe keeping.

It is easy to switch between back up and satellite and both work at the same time as does the music - has hands free for telephone and bluetooth. You can leave it as a backup camera that comes on when the reverse gear is selected or you can over ride it by the touch screen to be on all the time.

Van Bitz fitted it and did a first rate job as always and I suggest you talk to them about costs as they are a main Pioneer agent. Plus they have many other makes in stock. This item met my requirement, that was what it was about.




Title: Pioneer AVIC F500BT
Category: Reversing Cameras
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Robert Fage
Added: November 17th 2009
Viewed: 2224 Times
Score:Top of All
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Reversing Cameras Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: xiaoxin on 2011-06-17 03:16:14
My Score: Top of All

Before starting to communicate pandora gold beads charms about UGG boots, I should 1st handle people individuals near to pandora online the world, who have no notion whatsoever concerning what pandora jewellery in reality are. they are boots are of Australian make and use sheepskin as their raw material. They have fleece for the inside part pandora store jointly with a tanned external layer. Apart from boots for pandora charms adults, additionally they manufacture kid''s boots.







User Info

Good Morning Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 0
  New Yesterday: 15
  Total: 88,276
  Latest: mrmkg01

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 146
  Guest(s): 624
  Search Bot(s): 9
  Total: 779

 Online:
  Member(s): 
01.  747
04.  alandsue
05.  aldra
06.  alonsos
07.  alphadee
08.  alshymer
10.  baldeagle7470
11.  baldlygo
13.  bigtree
14.  bigtwin
16.  Bill_OR
18.  Bubblehead
19.  Buzzer
20.  camperman101
21.  charlieshelby
22.  Christine600
25.  dalspa
26.  deefordog
27.  dennisandand..
28.  DevonDuo
29.  dmet
30.  Drew
31.  DSL2
32.  DWUK
33.  elegance
34.  elldwin
35.  emjaiuk
36.  erneboy
37.  eurajohn
38.  Evs54
39.  ezz
42.  forthpilot
43.  funkymoped
44.  Garcia
47.  GEOMAR
48.  geordie01
49.  GerryD
50.  Gilroy
51.  Glandwr
52.  GMJ
53.  Grath
54.  greygit
55.  Grizzly
56.  HarryTheHymer
57.  Hellyro
58.  hogan
59.  HurricaneSmith
60.  Hydrocell
62.  hymermick1
63.  inkey-2008
64.  jedi
65.  jharp
67.  Johnstorm
68.  jonasw19
69.  jwinder
70.  Kev_n_Liz
72.  leseduts
77.  marpool
78.  max123
79.  mendit
81.  mm1
82.  moch
84.  motorman
85.  mpw
86.  Mrplodd
89.  Murgzie
90.  MYFANWY1
91.  nickkdx
92.  nictaz
93.  nidge1
94.  nobbythehobby
97.  peedee
98.  petetin
100.  Phodetheus
101.  pmcclure
104.  randonneur
107.  Robbins33
109.  Rodav
110.  rosalan
111.  rowley
112.  roxie
113.  ruthiebabe
116.  sirhandel
117.  smiler
119.  Solwaybuggier
121.  Stanner
122.  StAubyns
123.  SteveandSue
124.  SteveB123
125.  stevegos
126.  stewartwebr
127.  SunsetLancs
131.  The-Cookies
133.  timhg
134.  tonyt
138.  VanFlair
139.  vicdicdoc
142.  Webby1
144.  Zebedee
145.  Zepp

Random Photos

Caerfai
Hamble 2.06.12 080
P1110189 (small)

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 964

Desert Detours

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours