www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts Motorhome Accessory Installers Devon
Outdoor Bits Motorhome Accessory Installer

Motorhome Accessories fitted nationwide or at our workshop in Exmouth, Devon

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Triocamp Review Photo

Review of:
Triocamp

Dolni Chabry, Prague

Czech Republic Campsite CzechRepublic

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

1995 Mobilvetta icaro 5l
1995 Mobilvetta icaro 5l motorhome
Owned by gripper
Updated 12/01/2009

2009 Carthargo Opus
2009 Carthargo Opus motorhome
Owned by wobby
Updated 20/12/2009

2008 Swift Kontiki 679
2008 Swift Kontiki 679 motorhome
Owned by suffolkian
Updated 01/02/2009

Latest Classified Ads

Motorhome Ads

Pioneer AVIC F500BT


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a Pioneer AVIC F500BT

I have been using back up or reversing cameras for the better part of 15 years. Long before they were available in the UK. My first system in fact I fitted on a Dodge Ram 250 day van way back in the early 1990's having purchased it from Camping World in the USA. To day there is a mass of products on the market. Many reviews can be found in magazines such as MMM and if memory serves me they did a reasonable job back in September or October 2009 showing various types on the market at various prices.

The product I am reviewing was fitted to my American B class Winnebago Aspect 23D (2005) it was fitted in July 2009 by Vanbitz. The RV is a typical wide body on a commercial cab, in this case a Ford E350 and while the Velvac mirrors are good I would hate to reverse it without a back up camera. Well I did until I had it booked in and the work done a week after taking delivery.

I wanted a camera with a wide angle lens both to see each wing at the rear and also the tow ball and a fair bit of road behind the 8' wheelchair trailer I pull. Van Bitz had some suggestions for me and at one point we were going with a camera that could either rotate up and down or a twin camera (in the same body) giving different views.

However as I did not want the monitor on the dash or attached to the windscreen it came down to a very nice bit of gear by Pioneer. The head unit which is also a satellite navigation system as well as an entertainment centre (1,400 songs on it so far and only half of the 8gb card full). But the best part is the head is located down below the dash height and on the engine cowl within easy reach to allow me to select the different functions I want as I drive (do not do it while on the move). A limpet sucker type clamp is used so no drill holes. The power wire to the cradle comes from a gap in the dash.

The only issue I have is on the display you get the words saying that items may appear closer than they are. No it cannot be removed.

The vision is good and clear from a very small camera head. It works well in low light Could do with a rain shield but it has not been to much of a problem so far.

I was using the unit in doors the other day and it was telling me I was over speed limit and that satellite connection had been lost. I was 12' from the window. If I am say 8' from the window it still works in doors. It is a plug and go system and can be used in different cars or off the mains. In the RV it sits in a cradle that is powered and is linked to the radio and an amplifier. Yes it has the speed camera thing and traffic up dates live (has a small wire to the window screen on suckers for that) but the actual head has no aerial wire, it is all inside the unit. Good size monitor with a good view. Expensive yes and you certainly can buy cheaper. However if you add up the satellite system, music system and the back up camera it is not to over the top. Plus it can be taken out of the RV for safe keeping.

It is easy to switch between back up and satellite and both work at the same time as does the music - has hands free for telephone and bluetooth. You can leave it as a backup camera that comes on when the reverse gear is selected or you can over ride it by the touch screen to be on all the time.

Van Bitz fitted it and did a first rate job as always and I suggest you talk to them about costs as they are a main Pioneer agent. Plus they have many other makes in stock. This item met my requirement, that was what it was about.




Title: Pioneer AVIC F500BT
Category: Reversing Cameras
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Robert Fage
Added: November 17th 2009
Viewed: 2081 Times
Score:Top of All
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Reversing Cameras Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: xiaoxin on 2011-06-17 03:16:14
My Score: Top of All

Before starting to communicate pandora gold beads charms about UGG boots, I should 1st handle people individuals near to pandora online the world, who have no notion whatsoever concerning what pandora jewellery in reality are. they are boots are of Australian make and use sheepskin as their raw material. They have fleece for the inside part pandora store jointly with a tanned external layer. Apart from boots for pandora charms adults, additionally they manufacture kid''s boots.







User Info

Good Evening Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 17
  New Yesterday: 27
  Total: 86,503
  Latest: Shaun-sarah

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 244
  Guest(s): 937
  Search Bot(s): 7
  Total: 1,188

 Online:
  Member(s): 
01.  1302
02.  2634
04.  747
07.  Agilityman
08.  alanedwin
09.  aldra
11.  alisea
12.  alphadee
14.  arty23
15.  baldybazza
16.  barbarapet
17.  barryd
19.  bazandgaz
21.  BeeSea
22.  bernv
23.  bigfrank3
25.  bigtree
26.  bigtwin
28.  bijgouder
29.  BillyS
31.  Blobsta
32.  blondel
34.  bluereiver
36.  boringfrog
37.  Bovisand
38.  brimo
40.  cabby
41.  cairnnut
43.  Carl_n_Flo
45.  ceejayt
46.  Charisma
47.  charlieivan
50.  ChrisandJohn
52.  clayton9
54.  cliffhanger
55.  compassavant..
56.  coppo
57.  Cornishaich
59.  DABurleigh
60.  dalspa
61.  Darloboy
62.  davaha
63.  davesport
64.  davidandgwen
69.  dghr272
70.  DJMotorhomer
71.  djp30
72.  dmet
73.  dobbyt91
74.  Dougaitken
75.  dpsuk999
77.  Drew
78.  elldwin
79.  emjaiuk
80.  erneboy
81.  ezz
82.  fdhadi
85.  finyar
86.  fishingbob
88.  funkymoped
89.  gaspode
90.  gazza333
91.  GerryD
92.  Giddyscot
94.  Glandwr
96.  haggisbasher
98.  happytraveller
99.  Hezbez
100.  HyFy
101.  igglepiggle
102.  Irish_Rover
104.  jacder
108.  jb6981
112.  jo662
113.  JollyJack
114.  jonesy1
115.  jwinder
116.  K8H
117.  kaacee
120.  Kaytutt
124.  Koppersbeat
125.  LadyJ 
126.  LaMB
128.  lindjan
129.  Lonewolf
133.  Mattyrodill
134.  mcpezza
135.  MEES
136.  Mike48
140.  missmollie
141.  mistycat
142.  moblee
145.  MorrisMotorh..
146.  Mrplodd
147.  musicbus
148.  neiliz
150.  Nethernut
151.  nidge1
153.  novice1968
154.  nukeadmin 
155.  oldtart
157.  orridge
158.  Ozzyjohn
159.  Pammy
160.  Pandora09
162.  Pat-H
163.  PAT4NEIL
164.  paulj
165.  PaulW2
166.  Penquin
167.  peribro
168.  pete4x4
169.  peterb
170.  Petesabloke
171.  philnolly
173.  pigeon
174.  piggiebank
175.  pippin
177.  Rankins
178.  rayc
179.  rayrecrok
183.  Roadhogg
185.  Robbins33
187.  rogher
190.  rustydog321
191.  safariboy
192.  sallytrafic
193.  sandyketton
194.  scotty1
195.  seanoo
196.  Senator
198.  shingi
199.  SilverF1
200.  Sloany
201.  Solwaybuggier
203.  stanley
204.  Stanner
205.  Steptoe
206.  StewartJ
209.  Talaris
210.  teamsaga
211.  teddyj
212.  tel999
213.  tendy
214.  Terryg
216.  tessajoe
218.  TheFlups
220.  TheWoodentops
221.  Toddles
222.  tokkalosh
223.  tomar
224.  tonyt
225.  tony_g
227.  urbanracer
228.  val33
229.  VanFlair
231.  VenturerDave
232.  vicdicdoc
233.  waspes
234.  waterville
235.  Webby1
236.  weldted
237.  WhiskyRoller
238.  WildThingsKev
241.  zappy61
242.  zoro
243.  Zozzer
244.  _Julian_

Random Photos

P1100083 (small)
A Frame 2
Hamble 2.06.12 018

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 850

Desert Detours

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours