www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts Motorhome Solar Panel Fitting
Professionally Fitted Solar Panels for Motorhomes

Free & silent energy for your motorhome, fully fitted pricing for peace of mind.

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Gap Aire Review Photo

Review of:
Gap Aire

Gap
Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

French Campsite France

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2001 Hymer B694
2001 Hymer B694 motorhome
Owned by andygrisswell
Updated 14/07/2010

1990 Autohomes Highwayman
1990 Autohomes Highwayman motorhome
Owned by gravedanger
Updated 18/02/2014

2010 Hobby Van Exclusive L
2010 Hobby Van Exclusive L motorhome
Owned by Hobbyfan
Updated 30/07/2010

Motorhome Ads

Pioneer AVIC F500BT


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a Pioneer AVIC F500BT

I have been using back up or reversing cameras for the better part of 15 years. Long before they were available in the UK. My first system in fact I fitted on a Dodge Ram 250 day van way back in the early 1990's having purchased it from Camping World in the USA. To day there is a mass of products on the market. Many reviews can be found in magazines such as MMM and if memory serves me they did a reasonable job back in September or October 2009 showing various types on the market at various prices.

The product I am reviewing was fitted to my American B class Winnebago Aspect 23D (2005) it was fitted in July 2009 by Vanbitz. The RV is a typical wide body on a commercial cab, in this case a Ford E350 and while the Velvac mirrors are good I would hate to reverse it without a back up camera. Well I did until I had it booked in and the work done a week after taking delivery.

I wanted a camera with a wide angle lens both to see each wing at the rear and also the tow ball and a fair bit of road behind the 8' wheelchair trailer I pull. Van Bitz had some suggestions for me and at one point we were going with a camera that could either rotate up and down or a twin camera (in the same body) giving different views.

However as I did not want the monitor on the dash or attached to the windscreen it came down to a very nice bit of gear by Pioneer. The head unit which is also a satellite navigation system as well as an entertainment centre (1,400 songs on it so far and only half of the 8gb card full). But the best part is the head is located down below the dash height and on the engine cowl within easy reach to allow me to select the different functions I want as I drive (do not do it while on the move). A limpet sucker type clamp is used so no drill holes. The power wire to the cradle comes from a gap in the dash.

The only issue I have is on the display you get the words saying that items may appear closer than they are. No it cannot be removed.

The vision is good and clear from a very small camera head. It works well in low light Could do with a rain shield but it has not been to much of a problem so far.

I was using the unit in doors the other day and it was telling me I was over speed limit and that satellite connection had been lost. I was 12' from the window. If I am say 8' from the window it still works in doors. It is a plug and go system and can be used in different cars or off the mains. In the RV it sits in a cradle that is powered and is linked to the radio and an amplifier. Yes it has the speed camera thing and traffic up dates live (has a small wire to the window screen on suckers for that) but the actual head has no aerial wire, it is all inside the unit. Good size monitor with a good view. Expensive yes and you certainly can buy cheaper. However if you add up the satellite system, music system and the back up camera it is not to over the top. Plus it can be taken out of the RV for safe keeping.

It is easy to switch between back up and satellite and both work at the same time as does the music - has hands free for telephone and bluetooth. You can leave it as a backup camera that comes on when the reverse gear is selected or you can over ride it by the touch screen to be on all the time.

Van Bitz fitted it and did a first rate job as always and I suggest you talk to them about costs as they are a main Pioneer agent. Plus they have many other makes in stock. This item met my requirement, that was what it was about.




Title: Pioneer AVIC F500BT
Category: Reversing Cameras
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Robert Fage
Added: November 17th 2009
Viewed: 2079 Times
Score:Top of All
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Reversing Cameras Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: xiaoxin on 2011-06-17 03:16:14
My Score: Top of All

Before starting to communicate pandora gold beads charms about UGG boots, I should 1st handle people individuals near to pandora online the world, who have no notion whatsoever concerning what pandora jewellery in reality are. they are boots are of Australian make and use sheepskin as their raw material. They have fleece for the inside part pandora store jointly with a tanned external layer. Apart from boots for pandora charms adults, additionally they manufacture kid''s boots.







User Info

Good Evening Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 19
  New Yesterday: 18
  Total: 86,427
  Latest: lailarathe1

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 194
  Guest(s): 776
  Search Bot(s): 7
  Total: 977

 Online:
  Member(s): 
02.  747
05.  aldra
06.  alisea
07.  altom
08.  an99uk
10.  apb78a
11.  arao99
12.  baldeagle7470
13.  baldybazza
14.  barryd
15.  bigfrank3
16.  bigtree
19.  BillyS
20.  blade1889
21.  Blobsta
22.  blondel
25.  Brenpet
26.  cabby
27.  camallison
29.  camper69
30.  cello297
31.  Charisma
32.  charlieshelby
33.  chermic
34.  Citysafe
35.  cje101
36.  clf86ha
39.  coppo
43.  DABurleigh
44.  dalspa
45.  danielf
46.  darach
47.  Davenshe
48.  davesport
50.  davidandgwen
51.  DC4JC
54.  dhutchy
55.  dnhross
56.  dovtrams
57.  dpal3
59.  duxdeluxe
60.  elldwin
61.  erneboy
62.  esperelda
63.  Fatalhud
64.  finyar
66.  Foghorn-Legh..
67.  froggy59
68.  funkymoped
70.  garethjjones
71.  gaspode
72.  gassy
73.  Glen432
75.  hailman
76.  HarryTheHymer
77.  Hezbez
78.  hommes
80.  HurricaneSmith
83.  jacder
84.  Jamsieboy
85.  jarcadia
89.  jonegood
90.  JP
92.  K8H
93.  kabundi
94.  Kaytutt
97.  Kev_n_Liz
99.  kinsman
101.  Landyman
102.  Law
103.  leseduts
104.  listerdiesel
105.  macski
106.  madeleine53
107.  maewashigeri
109.  Mattyrodill
112.  Mike48
113.  mikebeaches
114.  Mikeclaire
115.  MikeE
116.  mistycat
117.  moblee
118.  mollmagee
121.  MyGalSal
122.  newleaf
124.  nukeadmin 
125.  olley
126.  ovalball
127.  p1nkie
129.  paulmold
131.  Phil42
134.  pieterv
135.  Pilchards
136.  pippin
137.  Premiere99
139.  randonneur
140.  ravenracing
141.  rayrecrok
144.  RobinHood
145.  Roger7webster
150.  seanoo
151.  sekrab
152.  sfour
153.  shingi
157.  Snunkie
158.  spartacus
159.  Stanner
160.  stayathomeno
161.  stevo
162.  suedew
163.  Suzysetter
164.  taz
166.  teddyj
167.  teemyob
168.  The-Cookies
170.  TheFellTerrier
176.  TM59
177.  tomm1
178.  tonybvi
179.  tonyt
180.  trek
181.  tugboat
182.  tyreman1
183.  urbanracer
184.  vince43
186.  waspes
187.  Webby1
189.  whiskyman
191.  Zebedee
193.  Zozzer
194.  Zuma

Random Photos

Hamble 2.06.12 005
Steam Fair Shabbington - 005
Img 0473-800
Waste tank access

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 846

Desert Detours

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours