www.outdoorbits.com

Sister shop to Motorhome Facts avtex snipe portable satellite system
Avtex Snipe

The Avtex Snipe is a small portable, fully automatic satellite system that also features Auto Skew for just under 650.

Motorhome Insurance

motorhome insurance quote online
Phone on 0208 9845311

Motorhome Insurance Quote

Motorhome Chat Rooms

Motorhome Chat

11 Chat Rooms
12 Members connected
6 members chatting

Chat Now

Campsite Reviews

Sabbioneta Parking Review Photo

Review of:
Sabbioneta Parking

SABBIONETA (MU)
Lombardy

Italian Campsite Italy

Full Details

Motorhome Garage

2010 Itineo FB 650
2010 Itineo FB 650 motorhome
Owned by davidod
Updated 10/03/2012

2009 CI Caravans International Carioca 705
2009 CI  Caravans International Carioca 705 motorhome
Owned by RichardandMary
Updated 09/01/2011

2007 Pilote Explorateur P715fj
2007 Pilote Explorateur P715fj motorhome
Owned by randonneur
Updated 29/06/2011

Motorhome Travel Blogs

Motorhome Ads

Pioneer AVIC F500BT


Below is an independant and unbiased review of a Pioneer AVIC F500BT

I have been using back up or reversing cameras for the better part of 15 years. Long before they were available in the UK. My first system in fact I fitted on a Dodge Ram 250 day van way back in the early 1990's having purchased it from Camping World in the USA. To day there is a mass of products on the market. Many reviews can be found in magazines such as MMM and if memory serves me they did a reasonable job back in September or October 2009 showing various types on the market at various prices.

The product I am reviewing was fitted to my American B class Winnebago Aspect 23D (2005) it was fitted in July 2009 by Vanbitz. The RV is a typical wide body on a commercial cab, in this case a Ford E350 and while the Velvac mirrors are good I would hate to reverse it without a back up camera. Well I did until I had it booked in and the work done a week after taking delivery.

I wanted a camera with a wide angle lens both to see each wing at the rear and also the tow ball and a fair bit of road behind the 8' wheelchair trailer I pull. Van Bitz had some suggestions for me and at one point we were going with a camera that could either rotate up and down or a twin camera (in the same body) giving different views.

However as I did not want the monitor on the dash or attached to the windscreen it came down to a very nice bit of gear by Pioneer. The head unit which is also a satellite navigation system as well as an entertainment centre (1,400 songs on it so far and only half of the 8gb card full). But the best part is the head is located down below the dash height and on the engine cowl within easy reach to allow me to select the different functions I want as I drive (do not do it while on the move). A limpet sucker type clamp is used so no drill holes. The power wire to the cradle comes from a gap in the dash.

The only issue I have is on the display you get the words saying that items may appear closer than they are. No it cannot be removed.

The vision is good and clear from a very small camera head. It works well in low light Could do with a rain shield but it has not been to much of a problem so far.

I was using the unit in doors the other day and it was telling me I was over speed limit and that satellite connection had been lost. I was 12' from the window. If I am say 8' from the window it still works in doors. It is a plug and go system and can be used in different cars or off the mains. In the RV it sits in a cradle that is powered and is linked to the radio and an amplifier. Yes it has the speed camera thing and traffic up dates live (has a small wire to the window screen on suckers for that) but the actual head has no aerial wire, it is all inside the unit. Good size monitor with a good view. Expensive yes and you certainly can buy cheaper. However if you add up the satellite system, music system and the back up camera it is not to over the top. Plus it can be taken out of the RV for safe keeping.

It is easy to switch between back up and satellite and both work at the same time as does the music - has hands free for telephone and bluetooth. You can leave it as a backup camera that comes on when the reverse gear is selected or you can over ride it by the touch screen to be on all the time.

Van Bitz fitted it and did a first rate job as always and I suggest you talk to them about costs as they are a main Pioneer agent. Plus they have many other makes in stock. This item met my requirement, that was what it was about.




Title: Pioneer AVIC F500BT
Category: Reversing Cameras
Sub Category:
Reviewer: Robert Fage
Added: November 17th 2009
Viewed: 1970 Times
Score:Top of All
Options: Send to a Friend  Print This Review
  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Reversing Cameras Index | Post Comment ]



Posted by: xiaoxin on 2011-06-17 03:16:14
My Score: Top of All

Before starting to communicate pandora gold beads charms about UGG boots, I should 1st handle people individuals near to pandora online the world, who have no notion whatsoever concerning what pandora jewellery in reality are. they are boots are of Australian make and use sheepskin as their raw material. They have fleece for the inside part pandora store jointly with a tanned external layer. Apart from boots for pandora charms adults, additionally they manufacture kid''s boots.







User Info

Good Evening Guest! 
[ Register ]
[ Lost Password ] Forgotten Username ?

You must Register to interact with Members

Username
Password

 Memberships
  New Today: 16
  New Yesterday: 28
  Total: 84,490
  Latest: balmananco100

 Most Ever Online
  Member(s): 464
  Total: 3,338

  Online Stats
  Member(s): 306
  Guest(s): 873
  Search Bot(s): 7
  Total: 1,186

 Online:
  Member(s): 
01.  1302
03.  362bkr
05.  747
06.  adgy
07.  Agilityman
09.  Al42
12.  aldra
13.  alecturn1
17.  anjasola
18.  autostratus
19.  baldeagle7470
20.  baldybazza
21.  ballymoss
24.  baz3000
25.  bernv
27.  bigcats30
28.  bigfrank3
29.  billybilbo
30.  BillyS
31.  Bill_OR
32.  bjandlin
33.  bktayken
34.  Blaggs
35.  bluereiver
38.  Brian-the-Sn..
40.  Brock
41.  bulawayolass
42.  cabby
43.  Cacherbri
44.  camallison
46.  catzontour
48.  Charisma
51.  ChrisandJohn
52.  Christine600
53.  chubb
54.  cje101
55.  clf86ha
56.  clipper
57.  cliveo
59.  Counter552
60.  cronkle
61.  crusader
62.  Daedalas
63.  dally1
64.  dangerfluff
67.  davo11
69.  DC4JC
71.  Deno
72.  Devonboy
73.  DevonDuo
74.  digger
75.  dipsie
76.  Ditcha
77.  Dixi
78.  DocHoliday
80.  dovtrams
81.  Drew
82.  DustyR
83.  duxdeluxe
84.  ebo
86.  elldwin
87.  emjaiuk
90.  Enzo
91.  erneboy
92.  esperelda
94.  exmusso
95.  finyar
96.  first5
97.  flyinghigh
98.  flyingpig
100.  froggy59
101.  funkymoped
102.  G7UXG
103.  gaspode
104.  Geriatricbac..
105.  GerryD
107.  Glen432
108.  gobbi
109.  Goldmaz
112.  Gram
114.  Grizzly
115.  grizzlyj
117.  grumppi
118.  GypsyRose
119.  H1-GBV
122.  Happycampers
123.  Happyrunner
124.  happytraveller
125.  harrison
126.  Hawcara
127.  hissingsyd
128.  hogan
129.  hommes
131.  HurricaneSmith
132.  hymer624
133.  hymerjeff
135.  IndieJ
136.  inkey-2008
137.  jacder
138.  Jamsieboy
139.  janet1
140.  JANETB
141.  jarcadia
142.  javea
147.  Jimblob44
149.  jobla
150.  jodil
151.  jwinder
152.  JWW
153.  K8H
154.  katv
155.  Kaytutt
158.  kencocamper
160.  kimbo4x4
162.  klyne
163.  LaMB
164.  Law
165.  legend654
166.  LindanJim
169.  listerdiesel
170.  MacHymer
171.  Malc
172.  manners1
173.  Mashy
174.  MaxandPaddy
177.  Midnightramb..
179.  MikeCo
182.  mistycat
183.  moblee
184.  moch
185.  moodyblue
187.  MrGaz
188.  MrJinks
189.  Mrplodd
190.  muffy
191.  Mumoffive
192.  Murano
193.  MYFANWY1
195.  neiliz
196.  newleaf
199.  nickoff
200.  nidge1
201.  nomad
202.  nukeadmin 
203.  ob1
204.  Old_Adventurer
205.  oxford-wande..
206.  padraigpost
207.  paulmold
208.  peejay
209.  Penquin
210.  peribro
211.  pete4x4
212.  peterandirene
213.  philjohn
217.  pmcclure
218.  poleman
219.  pomme1
220.  premiermotor..
221.  prof20
222.  quicksam
224.  randonneur
225.  rayrecrok
226.  rebbyvid
227.  redwings
228.  RichardandMary
229.  RichardD
232.  Roadhogg
233.  robrace
235.  rolyk
238.  sallytrafic
240.  sambelly
241.  satandpcguy
242.  scottie
243.  scotty1
244.  scrinchy
247.  shercat
248.  sideways
252.  smiler
253.  Sprinta
254.  spykal
255.  sqeek
256.  stanley
257.  Stanner
258.  stayathomeno
259.  SteveB123
261.  stewartwebr
265.  subfiver
266.  sweetie
268.  TeamHymer
269.  Techno100
270.  telbet
272.  TheFellTerrier
275.  thieawin
276.  tolly
278.  tonyt
280.  trevorf
282.  tugboat
283.  urbanracer
286.  wango
287.  warty
288.  waspes
290.  Webby1
291.  wee-z
292.  wendyandjohn
293.  Whatton
296.  whiskyman
298.  WSandME
301.  zack
302.  Zebedee
304.  Zepp
305.  zoro
306.  Zozzer

Random Photos

Go Anywhere
Dscn4137
Hamble 2.06.12 071

Motorhome Survey

Have you / previous owners had your motorhome habitation checked during the following timescales ?

Last 12 months
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years
6 Years
7 Years
8 Years
9 Years
10 Years
11 Years+


Results
Polls

Votes 675

Desert Detours

Desert Detours Moroccan Adventure

Andalusia Tours

Desert Detours - Andalusia Tours