Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm thinking of using an A frame to tow a Suzuki Carry van behind my motorhome. Does anyone have any experience of this method of towing?

Regards,

Ian.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Peedee,

I saw your photo of you towing a small car. I am a bit worried about the wear and tear to the vehicle being towed. Do the front wheels experience any wheel wobble on the towed vehicle? Will any damage be caused to the steering mechanism of the towed vehicle?

Am I worrying unnecessarily?

Thanks,

Ian.

·
Premium Member
7,022 Posts
I have been towing mine for 4 years now without any problems. There is certainly no evidence at the moment to suggest any problems, not even tyre wear but I would have your front wheel alignment checked beforehand as steering is reliant on this..

I tow about 600 to 700 miles a year, just depends where I am going. As you may know the legality of using an "A Frame" is a grey area in this country but I have never been stopped by the police. I have never take it on the continent where
it is only legally recognised in Holland. Some say the police turn a blind eye to
GB vehicles towing with it others have said they have been stopped and asked to
unhook. They have simply driven them as seperate vehicles for 20miles or so and hooked up again! I cannot do this being a single driver so don't risk taking it to the continent where they're much more motorhome friendly and car hire is cheaper.

peedee

·
Registered
28 Posts
towing ---now there's a myth gatherer. For facts

take a look at http://www.ukmotorhomes.net/towing.shtml
dont forget to clik on the purple "NOTES" at the bottom
of the article

also www.towtal.co.uk where you will find a downloadable
fact sheet ---just clik on A-FRAMES.
I think all you want to know is listed here.
On the Continent ?--- ring "old " Bill at Towtal (the guvnr)
he's been dragging all over Europe for the last