Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just like to say hello to all from Alan and Eirwen.... we live just outside Rhyl, we own an elderly Talbot Express Camelot 2ltr petrol, which we think is great,... and keeps me occupied during the fine days we are home, curing the "moth-holes" which keep appearing... seriously it is not so bad actually, a 1985 model with 47,000 on the clock, good MPG for a petrol,... approx 28-35MPG on a run, which I think is pretty good for an antiquated 2ltr pushrod, carburettored petrol of this weight...... the "moth-holes" are fairly superficial actually, and as an ex-motor engineer, I remember that most Talbots were a little frail in the bodywork dpt.... (remember the Talbot Horizon !)

Ex motor trade, I had a few touring caravans over the years, the last was a 1972 vintage "Viking Fiberline" I also created a couple of "self-build Ford Transit campervans in the 70's and 80's. the last one a "pop-top" with a Holdsworth elevating roof scavenged from a scrap Commer and suitably modified to fit.

Eirwen and I have only been married for a little over a year,... (it was her idea to buy a campervan again,)... we are in our mid-50s, (were both widowed about three years ago),... and are still in the process of embarking on a new life together.... her interests, Brass Bands and Morris/Majorette dancers,.. my interests,... keeping these old wheels rolling, and making her happy......

Alan.

·
Premium Member
13,217 Posts
Hi AlandEirw

Welcome to the community.
I can't remember that introduction on the old site so am assuming this is your first 'first' post as it were.

It sounds as though you have some experience which will be useful to others here. Please pass it on

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
Hi AlandEirwen,

Welcome to the site.

We to were caravanners until we saw the error of our ways,we also had a Holdsworth Fanfare hightop,what a lovely van,but we outgrew it.