Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to motorhoming and we're planning to go to France (Alsace & Lorraine region) this August to tour around for a couple of weeks. I've looked at booking some sites on the internet but some want a 20euro admin charge, that gets a bit much if you're only staying 1 or 2 nights.

What are others experiences of booking on the internet or is there a better way of doing it? Is it risky to just go and hope to get in somewhere? Any thoughts appreciated.

·
Registered
675 Posts
Booked up four different sites this year in Alsace late July & early August for just two nights in each, on speaking to them none was worried about booking fee or deposit despite it being on the website. Don't normally bother but we are meeting up with freinds who are new to m/homing and were reluctant to go without pre-booked sites.
Get the impression that they only want booking fee/ deposits if you are asking them to reserve a pitch for a week or more.
We booked pitches using the following 2 websites,

www.camping-alsace.com

www.abccamping.com

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for that Paulway.

The Camping-Alsace site looks particularly interesting, as I've not come across many websites which show the location on a map and also give useful information about the site.

What's your experience on standards, how does the star rating compare to sites here? Could you please recommend a campsite book for France?

·
Registered
675 Posts
Have to be honest, we have never stopped at this part of the world before, we thought we would have a change from South of France and Germany. We would have liked to go to Italy again but my wife is not able to get away for the length of time to do it justice.