Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a complete novice but with an uncontrolable urge to purchase a motor home, where do i start, what is the most economical model, which models hold their value, what is the most reliable vehicle around ETC ETC ETC ETC ETC!!
Smink :? :?

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
Hi Smink welcome to our mad world.
First things first, what kind of travelling /camping do you want to do?
Full term / long term / normal holidays / weekends?
where will you be storing the beast when you get it?
How long is your drive / how accessible is it
How many of you are there, and how friendly are you?
[Caz manages to get 3 kids n 2 dogs in a short wheel base transit? some people go for 6 metres worth for a couple.]
How much money do you want to commit?
Have you any dealers nearby? Can you get to the shows there are several coming up?
Manchester GMEX 22nd january or thereabouts
Birmingham NEC mid february
Peterborough in April
Have you thought about hiring a van and then when you get onto a site hassle the other motorhomers there - cos we'll all talk for ever about our pride and joys.
What kind of van did you want? there is the basic van with just the interior adapted, coachbuild which is a bit like a caravan with a van cab in front [no offense :p ] and A class which tend to be the big really flash looking ones where the cab is integrated into the vehicle.
Check out the Motorhome review section on here, some of them really go into a lot of detail; and Motorhome FAQs for info on different kinds of MH.

Whereabouts in the country are you? 8)

·
Registered
1,823 Posts
The first thing is take ages to look,fix
Firmly in your minds how much your spending limit is,
Decide what layout suits you best,
The next thing is the base vehicle.