Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
16,659 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Did you?

Oh blow, why does the photo taken on the mobile always turn on its side. :mad: and it´s impossible to stand it the right way.

Anyway up :laugh:, the loaf on the left was left for 10 minutes before the smaller one on the right was ready to put into the cold oven before turning the oven on to 200°c, in this ten minutes the first loaf had risen as high as the bread I used to make without the vinegar which took 45 mins to rise in a warm place.
I have been making my own bread for 30 years or more and did not know until now that vinegar helps the dough to rise, did you?

Attachments

Reactions: patp

·
Premium Member
36,045 Posts
Yes. I read it last week while making a buttermilk substitute so I could make soda farls. They turned out lovely by the way.

Then, showing off, Mrs Eb made fruit scones. I whipped cream amd we had a local strawberry jam with them. Lovely. Jam is mermalade here. Confusing.

Reactions: patp and JanHank

·
Premium Member
28,159 Posts
Cos it's Apple Jan.

Ray.

·
Premium Member
16,659 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes. I read it last week while making a buttermilk substitute so I could make soda farls. They turned out lovely by the way.

Then, showing off, Mrs Eb made fruit scones. I whipped cream amd we had a local strawberry jam with them. Lovely. Jam is mermalade here. Confusing.
It´s marmalade here Alan, but I think you probably know that.

I´ll have to check on farls, never heard of them. Oh kind of pancakes, I´ll have to try them.

·
Premium Member
36,045 Posts
It´s marmalade here Alan, but I think you probably know that.

I´ll have to check on farls, never heard of them. Oh kind of pancakes, I´ll have to try them.
Not really pancakes Jan. A sort of bread, often eaten toasted but superb with a fried egg on top and a few rashers of bacon. https://delishably.com/baked-goods/Irish-Soda-Farls