Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

My sister and family are hiring a MH to tour from Vancouver this summer. Can anyone readily suggest any useful websites for general touring advice or site searching?

Thanks, Ruth

·
Registered
6,583 Posts
Sorry I can't but I bet this post will stir up a lot of people who dream of doing such a trip but can't quite get around to it - I know, I'm one of them.
I'll follow this one with much interest.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Touring Canada

Hi. We hired a MH from Vancouver and toured through the Okanagan Valley, up to the Rockies and back down to Vancouver. It was amazing. We were complete novices as it was about 12 years ago and had never owned a motorhome at that time. We started off by getting holiday brochurs of Candadian tours and took itinery ideas from them. We never pre-booked a campsite, there are lots of them to choose from and we never knew how far we would travel in a day. Good Luck and enjoy.

·
Registered
20 Posts
a friend of mine said he once saw a european camper (as in with a european licence plate) in america. at first we thought it was crazy, but i guess if you are going for several months or an entire season, its cheaper to ship your own MH over, rather than rent one long term?

indeed we were going to go to canada for a couple of months and the price of renting a MH for that long put us off in favour of buying one here. canada will have to wait for us, for now.

but does anyone have any idea what it might cost to ship a MH over there and then back again?

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
We had our first taste of motorhoming 20 years ago when we hired one for a week or so in the middle of a Vancouver holiday. We took the kids and my sister's son (she lives in North Van.) onto Vancouver Island and toured all round.

Had a brilliant time, never booked a site but visited some really super ones.