Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
15,865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

We have bought a Frankia motorhome with a Omnistor 6M awning.

Should this awning have some kind of tensioning rafters that go inside the awning to prevent flapping?

Looked on Omnistor website but cannot find any info!

Trev.

·
Premium Member
1,407 Posts
Trev,

Our Omnistor of similar size (which came with the van) has no additional tensioning rafters either. I've only had it out once, but we were in a sheltered position (Baltic Wharf CC site) so no real flapping. I have no prior experience of these awnings, but I think some additional rafters would give peace of mind if nothing else.

Regards,
John

·
Registered
1,713 Posts
teemyob said:
Hello,

We have bought a Frankia motorhome with a Omnistor 6M awning.

Should this awning have some kind of tensioning rafters that go inside the awning to prevent flapping?

Looked on Omnistor website but cannot find any info!

Trev.
Hi Trev,

We have the Omnistor 6 mtr and it has a great tensioning system without the poles/rafters.

When the awning is fully out, look near to the ends of the arms where they fasten on to the front rail. Near to there on the inside are two little levers (ours are painted red). One on the inside of each arm. Simply turn the levers down so they are verticle and then wind the awning back in to tension the material.

If you have the electric version it does it automatically.

What this does is puts the right tension on the material and stops it from flapping.

Remember to wind it back out and turn the levers horizonal before winding it in

Pete

·
Registered
1,805 Posts
Hi

Ours is a 5m awning and we have 1 rafter for the middle of it (has a black plastic foot thing for the side of the van). We recently bought so sun/wind screens and they came with an extending pole for the side one.