Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
We are looking at purchasing a Renault Master MM33TD for around 12.5k.
It has 47k on the clock. Registered May 1998.
It has a full service history and 1 previous owner but is being sold by a dealer.
As a neewbie it looks pretty sound and just what we are after.
Before I part with any cash I was wondering if there is anyone out there who has owned one and can share any advice on good or bad points that I would need to be aware of to help us make a final decision.
Any help would be appreciated as we are complete beginners !

Thanks

Giles :D

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
I am a fairly long term owner ( about six years ) of one of the earlier model RMs: a 1992 model converted to camper in 1996, and also own the [email protected] which is an e-mail list for owners and enthusiasts of Masters.

I don't actually know much about the specific model that you are interested in. 1998 is the first year of the 'new' Renault Master and is somewhat different in many respects than the 'old' one which had been going in very much the same form since 1983. They did however have the basic same engines in some models, both turbo and non-turbo: probably the 2500cc diesel. This engine is a 'SOFIM' unit also found in some Fiats and Peugeots. The 1998 on Masters have the engine mounted transversely instead of longitudinally between the cab seats which is probably better!

The one you are looking at *is* ten years old.

I wonder what the conversion is: is it a professional conversion from new? Is it professional from 'used'?

Is it a 'self build'?
These may affect the actual value and you should know what it is before buying.

Renault Masters are very popular with 'self builders' but were not very often used as the base for a professionally conversion.

I must say that I find the size is excellent for two.

Hope that is of some assistance.

Harvey

·
Registered
99 Posts
gig said: