Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
My pal and I are doing a 6 week tour in my Ford Aragon. Hoping to go to S France, Dolomites, Swiss Alps, Croatia, Slovenia. I've never been abroad in my van before and am a complete newbie. We starting our journey by collecting my parents at Southampton and driving them via the Chunnel down to S France with their two dogs. After that we'll hit the open road. I have a few questions...
1) I need a good campsite about 2 hours from the tunnel in France so I can drive a wee way and then get a good sleep.
2) Anything we should be aware of now? Hazards, stuff we need to take with us?
3) Any good or invaluable tips for us on our travels?

·
Registered
2,996 Posts
First priority will be checking legal stuff ie driving license, mot, insurance, health cards then motoring requirements. Light deflectors, hi vis jackets, spare bulbs..

It's a great adventure and you will enjoy it.. Just do some searches on here and you'll probably find most the answers. Check out the campsite database as well...

·
Registered
11,158 Posts
I'll start the list:

Beam benders
First Aid Kitg
Spare bulbs for all lights
Emergency triangle
Yellow jackets if walking around broken vehicle

(Above is compulsory)

You need original documents for vehicle and insurance etc.

If you stop over on the motorway parking places for the night, only do so at the ones with a garage and shops and park in a well lit area.

Do not use the service stations where you have to park up and then walk across a bridge on the motorway to get to the resturants nor the ones with the resturants in the middle of the bridge as this give robbers plenty of time to do your van.

Pay boxes on the motorway are mostly on the passenger side so ensure the passenger is armed with funds or card.

If flagged down by unmarked cars carry on driving to the next service station and if they point to your tyres carry on anyway.