Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
17,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I have a Huwaei 220 dongle, locked to the WIND network in Italy. The dongle has today been unlocked. I have connected the dongle to my laptop and inserted a T-mobile SIM card, but I cannot connect to the internet. There is no signal strength shown and it looks like the dongle is not responding to the T Mobile SIM.

I know the reception is OK for T Mobile here as when used in my unlocked Vodafone datacard, T Mobile works ok.

So, do I need to be doing something else, other than just adding the SIM?

Thanks

Russell

Any responses will need to be in very simple terminology please.

·
Registered
3,464 Posts
Hi Russell,

I am no expert by any means and like you I need things explained in simple language but I might, and I stress might be able to help!!!!! 8O

I think you may have to alter your APN settings. If you go to the menu that allows you to alter the APN you will need to put the following information into the relevant boxes:

Operator: - T-Mobile
GPRS APN: - general.t-mobile.uk
Username: - user
Password: - wap

I hope this works!

Sue

PS If you do get a signal but no connection then ring the T Mobile customer services via your phone with the T mobile SIM you are wanting to use and ask them to activate Web n Walk on your phone. Don't tell them you are going to use your T Mobile SIM card in your dongle though as I do not think they would agree to activate this service for you if you told them that. Once Web n Walk is activated and you have entered the correct APN settings etc you should have connection through your unlocked dongle. :D

·
Registered
17,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dongle

Hi Sue