Motorhome Facts Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've given up with the existing radio aerial fitted to my Swift Bolero.

I've tried a Blaupunkt windscreen mounted one but the improvement was negligible so I'm going to fit a 'proper' body mounted aerial, fitted to the windscreen pillar.

I want to fit the new aerial to the offside of the cab as the interference on the original Swift supplied aerial seems to be created by the reversing camera LCD screen and all the cables for this run down the nearside pillar.

Does anyone know how to get at the back of the dashboard so that I can run the new aerial cable thru to the back of the radio?

I think that the rounded top of the dash probably just pulls up but don't want to pull too hard in case I'm wrong. :oops: I sure it can be done as Van Bitz mounted their flashing LED right in the middle of the dome.

Thanks

Adrian

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
Adrian,

I'm no expert on dashes but I do know that the dashtop locker comes out with 4 screws. I'm told that that's where Swift put the reversing camera box of tricks. My mobile van techie told me that he has cured several non-working Swift reversing cameras by opening up and plugging the leads into the gizmo. Something he thinks the factory occasionally forget to do.

HTH

SDA

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks SDA but I'm trying to get into the other side. I've had the dashboard locker out plenty of times whilst trying to get a decent reception from the radio.

If the reversing camera control module (gizmo) is not powered up then reception is OK but when it is powered it creates interference which blocks out reception unless tuned to a station with a very strong signal.

I've spoken to Swift's and Sargents who supply Swift with the reversing camera bits and they supplied a new LCD Monitor and a control unit (gizmo) to try and eliminate the problem but replacing the units made no difference.